If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

[Stolen] Theft from the Stevington and Turvey Light Railway

Discussion in 'Thief Watch' started by Graham Floyd, Sep 19, 2011.

1. Graham Floyd

Graham Floyd New Member

CCS engineer for Rail Safety and Standards Board
    All,

I am new to this sight having been directed here by another member, I am a co - owner of a small and private Light Railway in Bedfordshire. Sometime over the last week (12 - 17 Sept 2011) the metal thieves have been at work, they have taken around 900 yards of multicore signalling and 2 core power cable along with somewhere in the region of 100 signalling relays and all of the brass work from our Westinghouse style L power frame.

As our cable was buried and they have dug it up and because of the quantity of signalling relays stolen they must have been at work for some considerable time.

As our railway is private and on land with a public right of way we were unable to insure the material lost so recovery from this for us will be painful.

Of course the police have been advised and the relays may yet turn up somewhere and hence this post but the cable will never be seen again.

If any one hears of such being offered for sale please contact me on grahamafloyd@yahoo.co.uk

Thanks.

Graham

p.s crime number JH38359-2011

2. Graham Floyd

Graham Floyd New Member

The thieves used keys to access our location cabinets, we had previously (like a lot of railways) used the easy to obtain RKB221 lock but obviously this lock and it's keys are just too common so I recomend to all out there using this lock to scrap it post haste.

Graham

3. Graham Floyd

Graham Floyd New Member