If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

B&W levers in Quorn box?

Discussion in 'Signalling M.I.C.' started by campainr, Oct 8, 2011.

1. campainr

campainr Well-Known Member

There are two black and white levers in Quorn Signal Box on the Great Central. I simply want to know - what is their function? :noidea:

Here there are some shots of the frame from John Tilly's incredible site. http://tillyweb.biz/gallery/qq/quorn.htm which show the frame and the diagram, where the levers 5 and 25 (the B&W ones) are next to two lines perpendicular to the line on the Up and Down Mains.

2. Reading General

Reading General Part of the furniture

im no expert but i think they are for detonators.

3. Wenlock

Wenlock Well-Known Member Friend

Bus Driver
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
    Black and White Chevrons = Detonator Placers. Chevrons pointing up for Up lines, pointing down for Down lines.

4. John Webb

John Webb Member

Retired
    Yes - detonator placers. These are 5 and 23 on the diagram - just visible as two small black dots above each of the running lines above the red/white rectangle showing the signal box on the diagram.

The placers swung out the detonators onto the railhead when the lever was pulled. The detonators were fitted with a special clip on the side, not the usual lead straps, for the machine to hold them. Some versions of the placers had magazines which recharged the placer if the detonators were used.

At St Albans South we have 4 of these levers, one for each line. The levers are not interlocked with any other lever so they can be instantly pulled in any emergency.

5. 60017

60017 Resident of Nat Pres Friend

Retired from corporate slavery :o)
    No I do not currently volunteer