If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

2022 Gala dates

Discussion in 'Galas and Events' started by Paul.Uni, Oct 17, 2021.

  1. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    448
    As with previous years I thought it would be a good idea to have a thread that list galas dates.

    I will try to keep this post updated with galas and other one off railway enthusiast events, that are listed on the respective railways main website. Please feel free to post dates of any other events.

    27-29 May Bo'ness Railway Summer Diesel Gala https://bkrailway.co.uk/page/dieselgala
    28-30 May Bluebell Railway Road Meets Rail https://www.bluebell-railway.com/road-meets-rail/
    28-30 May Fairbourne Railway Steam Gala http://www.fairbournerailway.com/gala.html

    2-5 June Epping Ongar Railway 10th Anniversary and Steam Gala https://www.eorailway.co.uk/events/10th-anniversary-and-steam-gala/
    3-5 June Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway Cotswold Festival Of Steam https://www.gwsr.com/Cotswold_Festival_of_Steam_3_to_5_June_2022--post--111.html
    9-11 June West Somerset Gala Sixties Diesel Gala https://www.west-somerset-railway.co.uk/events/detail/sixties-diesel-gala
    10-12 June Keighley & Worth Valley Railway Diesel Gala https://kwvr.co.uk/event/diesel-gala/2022-06-10/
    10-12 June North Norfolk Railway Mixed Traction Weekend https://www.nnrailway.co.uk/mixed-traction-gala/
    11 June Hampton & Kempton Waterworks Railway Gala Day https://hamptonkemptonrailway.org.uk/whats-on/special-events-2022/
    11-12 June Statfold Barn Railway Enthusiast Weekend: Sweet Indian Steam https://www.statfold.com/sweetindiansteam
    17-19 June Ecclesbourne Valley Railway Mixed Traction In The Valley https://www.e-v-r.com/mixed-traction/
    18 June Gwili Railway Rail Oddities Event https://fareharbor.com/embeds/book/.../calendar/2022/06/?full-items=yes&flow=635413
    18-19 June Docklands Light Railway Poplar at Poplar https://kesr.org.uk/poplar-terrier-150/
    18-19 June East Lancashire Railway LYR/LNWR Merger Centenary Weekend https://www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk/events-activities/ly-centenary-weekend/
    25-26 June Amerton Railway Steam Gala https://amertonrailway.co.uk/events/steam-gala/
    25-26 June Apedale Valley Light Railway Diesel Gala https://avlr.org.uk/event/diesel-gala
    30 June - 2 July East Lancashire Railway Summer Diesel Gala https://www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk/events-activities/summer-diesel-gala/

    2-3 July Swindon And Cricklade Railway Diesel Gala https://swindon-cricklade-railway.org/event/diesel-gala/
    2-3 July Talyllyn Railway Anything Goes Gala https://www.talyllyn.co.uk/events/anything-goes-gala-2022
    10 July East Anglian Railway Museum Diesel Gala https://www.earm.co.uk/whats-on/
    15-17 July Watercress Line Diesel Gala https://watercressline.co.uk/diesel-gala/
    16-17 July Cleethorpes Coast Light Railway Summer Steam www.cclr.co.uk/summersteam/
    23-24 July Amberley Museum Rail Gala https://www.amberleymuseum.co.uk/whats-on/rail-gala/
    29-31 July Bluebell Railway Terrier Gala https://www.bluebell-railway.com/terrier-gala/
    29-31 July Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway Summer Diesel Gala https://www.gwsr.com/Summer_Diesel_Gala_29_to_31_July_2022--post--113.html
    30-31 July Welsh Highland Railway Welsh Highland Railway Centenary & Celebrations https://www.festrail.co.uk/welsh-highland-railway-centenary/

    5-7 August Ecclesbourne Valley Railway Summer Diesel Gala https://www.e-v-r.com/events/
    6-7 August West Lancashire Railway Summer Gala https://www.westlancsrailway.org/summer-gala
    13-15 August Spa Valley Railway Diesel Gala https://www.spavalleyrailway.co.uk/product.php/275/summer-diesel-gala-2022
    26-28 August Barrow Hill Roundhouse 150+2 Celebration Gala https://www.barrowhill.org/events-guide.html
    26-29 August Spa Valley Railway 25th Anniversary Gala https://www.spavalleyrailway.co.uk/product.php?xProd=290
    27-29 August Bala Lake Railway 50th Anniversary Steam Gala https://bala-lake-railway.co.uk/50th-anniversary-steam-gala/
    27-29 August North Norfolk Railway Bank Holiday Steam Gala https://www.nnrailway.co.uk/2022_programme/

    2-4 September Great Central Railway Diesel Gala https://www.gcrailway.co.uk/special-events/
    2-4 September Somerset & Dorset Railway at Midsomer Norton Autumn Gala - The Pines Remembered https://sdjr.co.uk/events/view/autumn-gala-the-pines-remembered-1
    2-4 September Welshpool & Llanfair Railway Annual Gala https://wllr.org.uk/upcoming-events/
    3-4 September Mid Suffolk Railway Country Railway Gala https://www.mslr.org.uk/visit-us/
    9-11 September Great Central Railway Railcar & Branchline Weekend https://www.gcrailway.co.uk/special-events/
    10-11 September Beamish Museum Beamish Transport Gala https://www.beamish.org.uk/events/beamish-transport-gala/
    10-11 September Blaenavon Railway Annual Steam Gala https://www.bhrailway.co.uk/events-and-experiences
    10-11 September Middleton Gala Autumn Gala 90 Years of the Diesel https://www.middletonrailway.org.uk/what-s-on/special-events
    10-11 September Watercress Line Open Weekend https://watercressline.co.uk/open-weekend/
    15-18 September Severn Valley Railway Autumn Steam Gala https://www.svr.co.uk/whats-on/
    16-18 September East Lancashire Railway Autumn Diesel Gala https://www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk/events-activities/autumn-diesel-gala-2/
    17-18 September Amerton Railway Everything Goes Gala https://amertonrailway.co.uk/events/everything-goes-gala/
    17-18 September Apedale Valley Railway Autumn Steam Gala https://avlr.org.uk/event/autumn-steam-gala
    17-18 September Dean Forest Railway Diesel Gala https://deanforestrailway.co.uk/experiences/diesel-gala/
    17-18 September Epping Ongar Railway Autumn Diesel Gala https://www.eorailway.co.uk/events/autumn-diesel-gala/
    17-18 September Isle Of Wight Railway Autumn Gala https://iwsteamrailway.co.uk/event/autumn-gala/?mc_id=9069
    17-18 September Somerset & Dorset Railway at Midsomer Norton The Pines Remembered - Ivatt Weekend https://sdjr.co.uk/events/view/the-pines-remembered-part-2
    22-25 September North Yorkshire Moors Railway Annual Steam Gala https://www.nymr.co.uk/Event/annual-steam-gala
    23-25 September Mid Norfolk Railway Diesel Gala https://www.midnorfolkrailway.co.uk/dieselgala
    24-25 September Lynton & Barnstaple Railway Autumn Steam Gala https://www.lynton-rail.co.uk/special-events/create-special-event-4
    24-25 September Sittingbourne & Kemsley Railway End Of Season Gala http://www.sklr.net/timetable-fares/special-events/gala/
    29 September - 2 October Severn Valley Railway Autumn Diesel Bash https://www.svr.co.uk/whats-on/
    29 September - 2 October West Somerset Railway Autumn Steam Gala https://www.west-somerset-railway.co.uk/events/detail/autumn-steam-gala
    30 September - 2 October Great Central Railway Autumn Steam Gala https://www.gcrailway.co.uk/special-events/

    1-2 October Epping Ongar Railway London Transport Weekend https://www.eorailway.co.uk/events/london-transport-weekend/
    2 October West Lancashire Railway Working Engines Gala https://www.westlancsrailway.org/working-engines
    7-9 October Watercress Line Autumn Steam Gala https://watercressline.co.uk/autumn-steam-gala/
    14-16 October Bluebell Railway Giants Of Steam https://www.bluebell-railway.com/giants-of-steam/
    16 October Amberley Museum Autumn Industrial Trains https://www.amberleymuseum.co.uk/whats-on/
    16 October Colne Valley Railway Diesel Gala https://www.colnevalleyrailway.co.uk/diesel-gala/
    22-23 October East Anglian Railway Museum Steam Gala https://www.earm.co.uk/whats-on/
    29-30 October Gloucestershire Warwickshire Railway Autumn Mixed Traffic Gala https://www.gwsr.com/Autumn_Steam_Gala_29_30_October_2022--post--117.html

    12-13 November East Lancashire Railway DMU Weekend https://www.eastlancsrailway.org.uk/events-activities/dmu-weekend-2/
    19-20 November Great Central Railway Last Hurrah Gala https://www.gcrailway.co.uk/special-events/
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2022
    3ABescot and free2grice like this.
  2. Ben Jenden

    Ben Jenden Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2019
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    350
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Croydon
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
    Severn Valley Railway Spring Steam Gala

    21st-24th April
     
  3. D1039

    D1039 Part of the furniture

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,852
    Likes Received:
    2,675
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    North Somerset
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
    And Spring Diesel Festival on 19th to 22nd May


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. Phil_Guard

    Phil_Guard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    95
    Hi all,

    Gwili Railway dates for next year....

    18th/19th June 2022 - Gala Weekend (theme TBA soon)
    10th September 2022 - 60th Anniversary of the closure of the Cardigan to Whitland branch
    8th October 2022 - End of Season Gala Day

    Details for events to follow.

    Diolch,

    Phil.
     
  5. Derek Riley

    Derek Riley New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Local Government
    Location:
    Warwick
    Chinnor Diesel Gala Friday 1 to Sunday 3 April 2022

    Derek
     
  6. Derek Riley

    Derek Riley New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Local Government
    Location:
    Warwick
    Latest Keighley newsletter has a 'save the date' of Friday 4 to Sunday 6 March 2022 for their Steam Gala, details etc to be confirmed.

    Derek
     
  7. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    448
  8. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    448
    Statfold Barn Railway
    • Giant Miniature Weekend - 7th and 8th May 2022
    • 1940's Weekend - 23rd and 24th July 2022
    • Road, Rail and Ale Festival - 10th and 11th September 2022
    Info from https://www.statfold.com/savethedates
     
  9. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    448
  10. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    448
  11. buzby2

    buzby2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,450
    Likes Received:
    418
    Location:
    Swanage
    Swanage Railway events in 2022 announced so far according to the website -
    24th - 26th June https://www.swanagerailway.co.uk/events/view/roads-to-rail
    Roads to Rail - Working Traction Engines; Children's Rides; Live Music; Trade Stalls; Beer Tent. Steam-hauled trains throughout plus evening DMU's Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
    9th - 11th September https://www.swanagerailway.co.uk/events/view/classic-transport-rally
    Classic & Steam Vehicle Show - annual event run by the Bournemouth and Poole Preservation Club at Harmans Cross.
     
  12. marshall5

    marshall5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,160
    Likes Received:
    3,194
    Location:
    i.o.m
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
    Isle of Man Railways
    Rush Hour on the Railways 15-18th April (Easter).
    Heritage Transport Festival 27-31st July.
     
  13. Paul.Uni

    Paul.Uni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    448
  14. WesternRegionHampshireman

    WesternRegionHampshireman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2021
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    132
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    No I do not currently volunteer
    Gloucestershire Warwickshire Cotswolds Festival Of Steam = 3rd - 5th June.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2021
  15. RichardMoreton

    RichardMoreton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
  16. alts1985

    alts1985 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    405
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Store Manager for the Co-operative Group
    Location:
    Stevenage
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    No I do not currently volunteer
    The Monday seems not to be a bank holiday - it’s Friday 3rd June that is (and Thursday 2nd) - is it more likely to be 3/6-5/6?
     
    flying scotsman123 likes this.
  17. Britfoamer

    Britfoamer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    1,761
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Chemist (semi-retired)
    Location:
    Within 2 miles of the ELR
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    No I do not currently volunteer
    According to the dotgov website 2 June is the Bank Holiday, 3 June is a public holiday for the Queen's Platinum anniversary.
     
  18. WesternRegionHampshireman

    WesternRegionHampshireman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2021
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    132
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    No I do not currently volunteer
    Date has been changed. :)
    Got confirmation this morning.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2021
  19. walmsley73096

    walmsley73096 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    8
  20. WesternRegionHampshireman

    WesternRegionHampshireman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2021
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    132
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    No I do not currently volunteer
    Certainly has their and here.
    Might be because of maintenance work, more time to prep or clashing with something.
    Who knows?
     

Share This Page