If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

York, York triangle/teardrop

Discussion in 'Photography' started by KopeX, Jan 17, 2013.

1. KopeX

KopeX New Member

Hi guys, my first post on this forum so I apologise in advance if I make any faux pas. I am a very keen amateur photographer and also work at York Carriage Works with the RHTT and seasonal MPV projects. I am currently devoting my camera to the destruction of Yorks rail heritage within the triangle/teardrop or in political speach, 'development'. I have documented the Leeman road OTM buildings and demolition as best as I can, I started on the railway there and my father and circles did 30+ years there, more photos to come and I also managed to get a camera into the opening of the new turntable next to the carriage works building. I shall continue to document changes and 'developments' as I believe York should still be a huge if not leading power in Britains railways. I am, for now trying to spend my spare camera time to the Railways.

The Leeman Road OTM set is at Leeman Road OTM Depot - a set on Flickr

and the opening of the new turntable is just on my photostream at the moment Flickr: KopeX's Photostream which I will add to and collect into a set soon.

I plan to cover the current freightliner building in the teardrop who's fate is unclear and Alliance House south side of the carriage works which is nearing derelict. I'll update the thread as I make progress.

Any comments, criticism or suggestions on the photography is welcomed, everyday is a school day.

Thanks guys,

Nathan.

2. Ploughman

Ploughman Part of the furniture

Ex a lot of things.
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
    Hi Nathan
    I found your photos earlier and noticed that the Canteen building in the old Wagon works has been demolished. Any idea when it went?