If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

My New Toy

Discussion in 'Miniature Railways' started by Live Steam, Oct 15, 2008.

1. Live Steam

Live Steam Well-Known Member

Operations Manager
    Ive bought myself a little 5" Turbine Driven Loco, quite an interesting little thing. It needed a lot of TLC, most of which is now complete but the one thing im struggling with is the gas burner. I've no knowledge of gas systems, this one has two nozzles (to fire the generator) a pipe and thats it. My question is what else do i need? Obviously a storage system but do I need a blowback valve or something like that? I take it also a regulator would be a good idea. Does anyone know where i can get this sort of equipment? What sort of gas is it likely to run off, my guess was LPG?

Thanks Guys

Dave

2. IndustrialSteamLeeds

IndustrialSteamLeeds Member

Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
    All 32mm gauge normally burn butane (the stuff that you find in cig lighters). Do a google search normally comes up with the answers.

3. Any photos it sounds intreauging

4. Live Steam

Live Steam Well-Known Member

Operations Manager
    Tried google already, not much came up. But at least I know im dealing more with liquids than pressurised gases now.

5. ilvaporista

ilvaporista Part of the furniture

C.Eng
    Based on my experince with LPG as a fuel source for a foundry I suggest a pressure regulator capable of going from 0-3bars. The regulators for cookers and BBQ's only run at 0.3bar and do not give enough flow to sustain a decent flame. Mine came from a welding set. For propane reulators try the Sievert blow torch range, available at good tool stores.

Security in the form of blowback protection is always wise in any system.