If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

Brake blocks

Discussion in 'Locomotive Engineering M.I.C' started by WB2624, Sep 25, 2007.

1. WB2624

WB2624 New Member

Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
    Does anyone know the correct/best composition of iron and additives to make long lasting brake blocks? Our last few batches have worn very quickly even though the foundry have added chromium to the latest batch.

Nigel

2. Steve

Steve Resident of Nat Pres Friend

Gentleman of leisure, nowadays
    I'm no expert on the subject but, back in my British Coal days a colleague did some investigation into variation of brake block wear and associated coefficient of friction for underground locos and found that a significant factor was where the foundry left the castings to cool. If they were left outside in the cold air rather than in the foundry itself a harder block ensued, even though the blocks had come from the same cast!

3. m1ss_wh1te

m1ss_wh1te New Member

To an extend the ones with the best friction seem to be the ones that wear out quickest. What engine?

4. WB2624

WB2624 New Member

The loco in question is 'Triumph', a 2'6" gauge 0-6-2T which is a tad under 20 tons. The blocks always used to last a fair number of years but one batch last year did about 20 days service and left iron filings in areas we really wouldn't want them. The foundry did cast more sets free of charge but we're still not getting much more than about 500 to 600 miles out of them. The set on another loco have lasted at least 7 years with a similar yearly mileage - the trouble is the foundry that cast them has long closed down.

5. Steve