If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

Best material for outdoor layout baseboard?

Discussion in 'Model Railways' started by mangler, Feb 20, 2013.

1. mangler

mangler New Member

Hi there,

I'm new to railway modeling, I've built a few plastic loco kits in my time but my experience so far ends there.

I've recently inherited a large scratch built 0 gauge layout which was built by my grandfather. My original plan was going to be to move it in its entirety and rebuild in my garden. However, during the sale of the house we found out that the material used for the base boards/platforms was a cement/asbestos mix (quite normal back then apparently) and this meant that it could not legally be moved. So to cut a long story short, I had to dispose of everything made of this (perfectly serviceable IMO) material.

This leaves me with everything else (track, buildings, wooden supports/staging, ballast etc) but no base board or stations to be able to start the rebuild.

I want to stay true to what my Grandfather created and that was a permanent structure outdoors with wooden covers for the stations when not in use.

So, Can anyone here recommend a good material with the resilience to stand up to being permanently outdoors and the strength to hold the weight of the ballast without sagging?

Many Thanks,
    Dave

2. gwernol

gwernol New Member

Chief Technology Officer