If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

Railway Milk Churns (or What a Coincidence!)

Discussion in 'Railwayana' started by flaman, Oct 12, 2015.

1. flaman

flaman Well-Known Member

Semi-retired farmer, railway & museum owner
    I wasn't sure whether to post this here or on "Things That Cheer Me Up", as either seem appropriate.

I have collected railwayana for the thick end of 50 years- anything from buttons to locos. Being a farmer, I have a special interest in railway items with an agricultural connection, I also enjoy the rare opportunity to re-connect items that have long been separated and, of course, it's even better if your prize has cost you little!

About three years ago, I found myself at a reclamation/antique yard near Colchester. Looking around and to my surprise, I found one of the 17 gallon conical churns which fell out of use before WW2 and are typical of those used on the railways, in fact they used to be called "railway churns". This example was very rusty, but water (milk!) tight and only lacked the brass plate normally soldered on to the lid, stamped with the name of the farmer or dairy, the name of the nearest station and the railway company. After a short haggle I happily parted with £60 and left with my prize.

Arriving home, I started work with the wire brush and got a pleasant surprise; stamped down the side in letters 1" high, though previously unnoticed, was the legend "D.A. EDWARDS Ltd., JOHN O' GAUNT, L.M.S. & L.N.E.R" and dated 27-9-27. Not just one of the most unusual station names, but two railways for the price of one!