If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

Loco musings ex the 71000 thread

Discussion in 'Steam Traction' started by m&gn50, Feb 25, 2013.

1. m&gn50

m&gn50 New Member

Sorry my message is a bit garbled, E.S.Cox speaks of GRESLEYs middle cylinders problems with valve expansion/contraction in the middle cylinder due to the extremes of temp(I'm not an engineer), I wondered if this may affect middle cylinder mechanisms such as poppets in general, as spindle wear was noted on the Claughton inside cylinder spindles (not a problem with regular overhauls); but it sounds like this can be adjusted. He has quite a lot to say on Caprotti from the 'Claughtons' and its slightly inferior cousin the Lenz and its most interesting in general. Anyone know of any books on the later version?
    I was wondering if modern materials could iron out the problems on Gresleys middle cylinder, with heat resistant big end and less variable expasile piston valve(it has all been proposed in the aboves papers some 60 years ago by someone who knew more about this than a modern engineer can do, has materials moved on such that his changes could be made to save wear? If anyone is going to be building a P2 if its Gresley gear this can surely be corrected nowadays(?) to make it improved and should be looked at, but if its Caprotti vs Lenz, go for Caprotti (it must surely sound similar?)!

2. class8mikado

class8mikado Part of the furniture

Print Estimator/ Repository of Useless Informatio.
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    No I do not currently volunteer