If you register, you can do a lot more. And become an active part of our growing community. You'll have access to hidden forums, and enjoy the ability of replying and starting conversations.

Coupled wheels - what if the wheels are slightly different sizes?

Discussion in 'Steam Traction' started by Raimondo, Nov 4, 2016.

1. Raimondo

Raimondo New Member

Please bear with me as I'm not an expert or a technical person, but what happens with a loco's coupled wheels if they are all not exactly the same circumference?

Even if they are only a couple of millimetres out, one (or more) wheel will complete a rotation faster (or slower) than the others and hence get out of sync. If they are are coupled, whether it be an 0-4-0 or a 2-10-0, how does this work? It's unlikely that all 10 driving wheels on 9F will be exactly the same circumference, so what happens to compensate this?

Presumably there is some slippage - but does this add the the stresses and strains of the axles & motion?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but it's been troubling me!

2. threelinkdave

threelinkdave Well-Known Member

Retired
    Stratford-upon-Avon or in a brake KD to BH
    Heritage Railway Volunteer:
    Yes I am an active volunteer
    Loco wheels are turned / profiled as a set so will to all intents and purposes be the same circumference. There will be slight differences due to engineering tollerances and these differences will be accomodated by slight slipping between rail and wheel.

Have you considered what happens on a curve. a pair of wheels is solidly mounted on an axle. the inside wheel will travel a shorter distance than the outer so some slippage between wheel and rail will occur.

andalfi1 likes this.
  3. gwalkeriow

gwalkeriow Well-Known Member

Retired.
    The 1 in 20 taper on the tread compensates for the shorter distance on the inside rail, the wheel will find the correct position to more or less prevent slippage.

Wenlock likes this.
  4. Eightpot